Janelle Clarke Memorial Award

The Janelle Clarke Memorial Award was inaugurated in 2003 in memory of Janelle Clarke. Janelle Clarke began her netball career with Embleton Primary School before joining Rebels in 1992 when she was 13 years old. Janelle Clarke played for Rebels for both winter and spring seasons for seven years, playing a total of 156 games. Janelle also represented Noranda Netball Association at various levels throughout her time with Rebels.

Tragically, in 2003 Janelle was in a car crash on Great Eastern Highway that claimed her life at the young age of 24. In memory of Janelle, Rebels created the Janelle Clarke Memorial Award, to honour Janelle’s commitment and dedication to the club.

The recipient of the Janelle Clarke Memorial Award is selected by the Executive Committee for their outstanding contribution to the club. The recipient of the award receives a Perpetual Trophy and a gift voucher.

Club Recipients

2003  –  Kirsty Grant

2004  –  Vicki Grant

2005  –  Jenny Loiacono

2006  –  Leonie Tanner

2007  –  Lauren Hawkins

2008  –  Sussan Hawkins

2009  –  Rebecca Wood

2010  –  Christine Wood

2011  –  Adriana Foster

2012  –  Tiffany Edwards

2013  –  Paige Denning

2014  –  Ellen Foster

2015  –  Tess Wind

2016  –  Shelly Ditewig

2017 – Nadia Di Cesare

2018 – Fiona McGougan

2019 – Peta Silvestro

2020 – McFeggan Family